Melbourne Business School News Melbourne Business School appoints three new directors to its board

Melbourne Business School appoints three new directors to its board

Three of Australia's most experienced leaders in business, government and the not-for profit sector have been appointed to the Board of Melbourne Business School.

Melbourne Business School appoints three new directors to its board

Joining the Board as directors are senior executives Jeanne Johns, Claire Rogers and Lynne Williams AM, who bring deep experience in the business, government, digital and not-for-profit sectors.

Ms Johns is Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of Incitec Pivot Limited, a world- leading industrial explosives and fertilisers company. She has more than 25 years of global executive experience and a passion for safety.

A founding member of the Australian Climate Leaders' Coalition, Ms Johns is also the inaugural Victorian Chair of the Council of Governors of the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia and a board member of the International Fertilizers Association.

"I'm delighted to be joining the Melbourne Business School Board and play a role in shaping our next generation of leaders," Ms Johns says.

"Having a seat on the Board is a great opportunity to contribute to the ongoing success of the MBS, which has an impressive track record producing outstanding graduates who make a real difference in the business world, across government and within our communities."

Ms Rogers is the Executive Director of Duty of Care, Managing Partner of CEO Mastermind Advisory Services, Mentorlist, and former CEO of World Vision Australia, during which time she was also Director and Vice-President of the Australian Council for International Development.

Before World Vision, she held several senior positions at ANZ Bank and built her reputation as a strategic leader in driving growth, innovation and transformation.

"I am excited to come back to this amazing institution that equipped me to lead organisations for sustainability and innovation," says Ms Rogers, who completed her MBA at Melbourne Business School.

"I'm looking forward to contributing to MBS now and into the future as we deliver on our purpose of unleashing ideas and leaders for a sustainable future."

Dr Williams AM is an economist with over 30 years of public sector experience and is currently a Commissioner of the Commonwealth Grants Commission, a member of the Legal Services Board of Victoria, chair of the Victorian Judicial Entitlements Panel and Deputy Chair of the Essential Services Commission of South Australia.

An expert in public policy, finance, regulation, procurement, risk and audit, Dr Williams is also Principal Fellow and a Board member of St Hilda's College, a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia.

"I am looking forward to working with my fellow directors to ensure Melbourne Business School is the school of choice for post-graduate students and professionals wanting to expand their leadership and managerial skills in the private, public or community sectors," she says.

"It is an exciting time to be part of an institution committed to delivering continually evolving learning methods."

Chairman of the Melbourne Business School Board, Mr Ross Barker, says he's delighted to welcome the three.

"The School has been served well over the years by the quality and commitment of its directors, and we are particularly delighted to welcome to the Board our new directors, Dr Lynne Williams, Ms Jeanne Johns and Ms Claire Rogers, who continue in this tradition," Mr Barker says.

"They are all extremely capable and talented individuals and leaders. They bring to the Board experience in a breadth of organisations, including the public service, domestic and international businesses and not-for-profit organisations.

"We look forward to the varied perspectives they will bring to the oversight and strategic direction of the School."

Mr Barker also expressed appreciation for the long-standing service of recently retired Board members, Dr Jackie Fairley, Mr Jan Craps and Dr Xiaoling Liu.

"We are extremely grateful for the respective contributions of our recently retired board members and their willingness to serve the School with such professionalism and dedication; in particular, Dr Fairley who served on the Board for 10 years and chaired our Remuneration and Nominations Committee."

Melbourne Business School is jointly owned by the business community and the University of Melbourne.

Our partnerships and interactions with the corporate world, government and the not-for-profit sector are fundamental to delivering our mission to unleash ideas and leaders for a sustainable future.

To find out more about studying at Melbourne Business School, visit our Degree Programs and Short Courses pages or learn about how we design Custom Solutions with organisations.