As we welcome students, staff and visitors back to campus, we require those attending Melbourne Business School in person to be fully vaccinated. Read our COVID-19 Vaccination Requirements Policy to learn more.

View policy
Melbourne Business School News New Melbourne Business School awards to recognise lifetime contributions

New Melbourne Business School awards to recognise lifetime contributions

Two new fellowship awards have been launched to celebrate the achievements of people who have made a significant and sustained contribution to the life of Melbourne Business School.

Professor Ian Harper, Dean of Melbourne Business School

The Distinguished Fellow and Distinguished Academic Fellow awards will be presented by the Dean each year to recognise outstanding performance over many years in one or more of the following areas:

  • Teaching excellence;
  • High-quality, globally-recognised research;
  • Enhancing Melbourne Business School's standing within the academic or business community;
  • Exceptional service to the School, including through extra-curricular activity.

Professor Ian Harper, Dean of Melbourne Business School, said the fellowships were designed to recognise those who had become integral parts of the School community.

"The recipients of these awards will require little in the way of introduction," he said. "They will be members of our community whose names are already all but synonymous with Melbourne Business School, and who have left a lasting impact on hundreds if not thousands of lives."

The recipients of this year's inaugural awards are:

Dr John Alford
Distinguished Academic Fellow

Dr Marianne Broadbent
Distinguished Academic Fellow

Mr Clarence Da Gama Pinto
Distinguished Fellow

Dr Geoff Lewis
Distinguished Academic Fellow

Professor Harper congratulated each of the recipients and thanked them for their outstanding service. The School will host a special celebratory dinner in honour of the recipients in early 2019.